A Brief Introduction to Cricket

Cricket is a modern-day sport performed between teams. Every team has eleven players. The game is played on an oval or spherical shaped ground which has an oblong 22 yard lengthy pitch on the center. One workforce bats to attain as many runs as possible. The other crew stops the run flow by dismissing the batsmen. A run is scored when a batsman hits the ball with his bat, runs to opposite finish of pitch and touches the crease there without being dismissed.

There are three formats of the game:

a) Test Cricket

b) One Day Cricket

c) Twenty-Twenty

Test Cricket

The oldest form of cricket is Test Cricket. The game of cricket actually advanced with Test Cricket. Records show that first ever test match was played between Australia and England in the year 1876-77. The game of cricket has come a long way since then. The rules have modified a lot. A test match is performed over a period of 5 days with every team batting and bowling twice. Maximum over that can be bowled in a day is ninety while there is no such thing as a limit on the number of over a single bowler can bowl. Over 2000 test matches have been played till date.

There are nine test taking part in nations which are full members of Worldwide Cricket Council – The Worldwide Cricket Governing body. These members are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

One Day International

Limited over cricket was launched in England in the 12 months 1963. Internationally, the first limited over game was performed within the 12 months 1971. One game is performed in one day. A bowler can bowl a most of 10 over’s in a game. In 1975, a new tournament known as World cup came into existence. All International Cricket Council members gathered at one place for a sequence of matches against each other. The winners of tournament have been termed as World Champions.

World cup is played after each 4 years. ICC has performed 10 world cups till date. Australia became champions four instances, West Indies and India twice while Pakistan and Sri Lanka once. The final world cup was held within the year 2011 and was won by India.


The latest evolution within the game of cricket is twenty-twenty. Here, every staff plays 20 overs and a bowler can bowl a most of 4 overs. First international Twenty-twenty game was performed in the 12 months 2005 between Australia and New Zealand. First twenty-twenty world cup was held in 2007. The tournament is played each two years and twenty-twenty world champions are crowned. 20 international teams have performed the game till date.

Should you have virtually any concerns regarding where and also how to work with Cricket Highlights, you can e-mail us with our own web-page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *